Departmental News

17th Annual Garnet E. Peck Symposium postponed until the fall of 2020

postponement annoucement

Last evening Purdue University released a statement in response to the COVID-19 global outbreak which outlines a comprehensive plan to protect the health and safety of the Purdue community, as well as guest lecturers traveling to the campus from around the United States and around the world. As part of this precautionary plan, all symposia and large attendance events have been cancelled through May 2, when the situation will then be reassessed.

Professor Tony Zhou receives $3.2 million NIH Award to support technology to fight deadly bacterial lung infections

Zhou NIH grant photo

New support may help Purdue University scientists target what they call one of the greatest threats to human health – antimicrobial resistance.. A Purdue team has received a $3.2 million grant from the National Institutes of Health for its work to treat antibiotic-resistant lower respiratory infections – the fourth-leading cause of death worldwide.

IPPH Faculty Paper featured on cover of Pharmaceutical Research Magazine

Pharmaceutical Research cover

The paper, "Surface Composition and Formulation Heterogeneity of Protein Solids Produced by Spray Drying,” written by Dr. Elizabeth Topp and Dr. Tony Zhou,  was featured on the cover page of the January 2020 issue of Pharmaceutical Research. The abstract is below and the full paper can be found at:


Zhou receives the 2019 Emerging Scientist Award from the Aerosol Society

zhou receives emerging scientist award

Dr. Tony Zhou, Assistant Professor of Industrial and Physical Pharmacy, is the recipient of the Emerging Scientist Award from The Aerosol Society in UK.

IPPH graduate student, Simseok Yuk receives the 2019 Dr. Herbert A. Lieberman Award

Simseok Yuk and Department Head, Dr. Eric Munson

Purdue graduate student, Simseok Yuk, has been selected by the faculty of Industrial and Physical Pharmacy to receive the 2019 Dr. Herbert A. Lieberman Award. This award recognizes Simseok’s 2018-2019 leadership as the president of the AAPS Student Chapter as well as his efforts in serving as host for events such as technology presentations by representatives of national laboratories and pharmaceutical companies and completing the application work to receive a tier-one award in the Purdue Graduate Student Organization Grant Allocation (GSOGA).

Excellent IPPH Representation at the 2019 Gordon Conference

Everyone at the conference

The hills of Waterville Valley, NH were alive in June of 2019 with the sounds of science during the Preclinical Form and Formulation for Drug Discovery 2019 Gordon Research Conference (GRC). Co-chaired by Dr. Elizabeth Topp of Purdue University and Dr. Karthik Nagapudi of Genentech, this year’s theme was “The Role of Form and Formulation Development in Transforming a New Era of Molecules into Therapeutics”.

Outstanding Reviewer for Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Dr. Qi (Tony) Zhou

Dr Zhou in lab

Dr. Qi (Tony) Zhou of IPPH was selected as an Outstanding Reviewer for Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences. Dr. Zhou has earned the distinction through a combination of the quantity and quality of the reviews he has conducted over the past year.

IPPH Professor Elizabeth Topp leads effort to improve rescue kits for people with diabetes and hypoglycemia

People in the lab

A National Institutes of Health SBIR Phase I/II grant worth up to $1.4 million was recently awarded to Monon Bioventures, LLC to develop better rescue kits for hypoglycemia. The grant will fund a collaboration with Purdue University’s Elizabeth Topp, a professor of industrial and physical pharmacy. The grant will support the pre-clinical development of novel derivatives of glucagon, the drug used in rescue kits.        



Mega Menu Visual Content