Severin Thomas Schneebeli

Associate Professor
Specialization: Biopharmaceutical Production & Stabilization, Drug Delivery, Supramolecular Chemistry, Chemical Synthesis, Multiscale Computer Modeling


MA 2006, University of Zurich
PhD 2011 (with Distinction), Columbia University
IIN Postdoctoral Fellow (2011–2014), Northwestern University


Research in the Schneebeli group lies at the interface of industrial and physical pharmacy, supramolecular chemistry, organic synthesis, and multiscale computer modeling. The main aim of our research is to invent better methods to manufacture, stabilize, and deliver biopharmaceuticals. The Schneebeli lab develops next generation affinity reagents (artificial antibodies) and catalysts (artificial enzymes) based on unique precision macromolecular scaffolds to meet this challenge. We first design these functional systems with multiscale computer modeling, and then synthesize and test the systems in our lab. As a first example of artificial enzymes, we have recently reported a large and robust molecular tetrahedron, which can size-selectively functionalize polymer chains in Chem (Cell Press) . Graduate, undergraduate, and professional students in the Schneebeli group gain valuable interdisciplinary experience in industrial and physical pharmacy, organic synthesis, supramolecular chemistry, materials characterization, and computer modeling.

Lab Members

Nils Ayeze Balegamire (Research Technician (Schneebeli lab))
Kyle Timothy Faivre (CHM Graduate Student with Prof. Schneebeli)
Anthony Gabriel Mena (CHM Graduate Student with Prof. Schneebeli)
Daijing (Amy) Nie (IPPH Graduate Student with Dr. Severin Schneebeli)
Mica E Schenkelberg (CHM Graduate Student with Dr. Schneebeli)
Olav Vestrheim (CHM Graduate Student with Dr. Schneebeli)


  • Biopharmaceutical Production, Stabilization, and Delivery
  • Supramolecular Chemistry
  • New Affinity Reagents

Honors and Credentials

  • NIH MIRA Award 2022                           
  • Thieme Chemistry Journals Award 2020
  • NSF CAREER Award 2019
  • Army Research Office Young Investigator Award 2018
  • International Institute for Nanotechnology (IIN) Postdoctoral Fellowship, Awarded 2011–2013, for Demonstrated Innovation & Outstanding Achievement during the Doctoral Research
  • ACS Postdoc to Faculty Workshop Travel Award, Indianapolis, IN 2013
  • Selected Participant, NSF Future Faculty Workshop “Leaders of Tomorrow”, Atlanta, GA 2013
  • DOE Travel Fellowship to attend the ISMSC-8 Conference in Arlington, VA 2013
  • Hammett Award in Chemistry for Excellence in Studies and Research 2011
    toward the PhD, Columbia University, awarded to the top Fifth-year Chemistry Graduate Student
  • Arun Guthikonda Memorial Fellowship in Chemistry, 2010–2011
    Columbia University, awarded to the top Fourth Year Chemistry Graduate Student
  • Best Scientific Poster Award, Columbia University Nanoscale Science 2009
    and Engineering Center Retreat, Short Hills, NJ
  • Upjohn Fellowship for Academic Excellence, Columbia University 2007–2008
  • Appointed Young Researcher Participant, 18th Meeting of Nobel Prize Winners 2006
    in Chemistry, Lindau, Germany
  • Scholarships from the Alfred Werner Legate at the University of Zurich, 2005/2006
    Switzerland, awarded for Academic Excellence
  • Appointed Member of the Swiss National Team at the 34th International Chemistry 2002
    Olympiad, Groningen, the Netherlands for High School Researchers

Representative Publications

Mega Menu Visual Content